How do I become Attuned to Reiki?

Gaia's Light Bookings

Once you have experienced Reiki for yourself you may be curious to learn more about it. Perhaps you’d like to learn how to give and receive it yourself?

I ‘discovered’ Reiki during a time of intense self-development over 20 years ago. I was working primarily with colour and crystals and was under the mentorship of Lesley Brown who was also helping develop my psychic abilities and clairvoyance. However, before I made the commitment to help others, I felt it was important to deal with some of my own ‘stuff’ first.

Reiki was introduced to me at just that time – the right time. During the healing, I sensed the energies were much gentler than some of the other energies I had been working with – but boy was it effective. This was what I needed to work through blocks I’d been carrying around for a lifetime. Because the energy was gentle it was sustainable and it seemed to go where I needed the energy the most.

Over time my Reiki therapist commented how sensitive I was to the energy and asked if I had considered adding to my healing work by becoming a Reiki practitioner myself? Becoming attuned to Reiki meant I would be able to give myself Reiki treatments on an ongoing basis. This, in turn, meant I could really clear any lingering blocks and get to grips with some serious healing and development work.

Everyone comes to Reiki for their own reasons and incorporates it into their lives in different ways. After experiencing first-hand how powerful the energy was for me I realised this was something that could help my friends and family in their times of need too.

Training with a Master

To learn Reiki (or become Attuned) you must train through a Reiki Master. My strong advice if you want to become a certified practitioner is to follow the USUI Lineage. Lineage is very important since Reiki has become so westernised over the years. As a result, many ‘variations’ (some would say imitations) exist.

If you are looking for a reputable Reiki Master in the USUI lineage and have no idea where to begin, I suggest looking for one who is affiliated with a regulatory body such as Reiki Australia (if you are in Australia) or the UK Federation (if you are in the UK).  Their websites will have a database of practitioners and masters in your area. Alternatively, check out your local online Natural Therapy Pages.

Each Master will run things slightly differently but generally speaking, there are 3 levels of Reiki

  • Reik I
  • Reiki II (Practitioner Level)
  • Reiki III (Master Level)

It’s been 20 years since I was ‘Attuned’ and I believe Masters nowadays offer all sorts of add-ons or different levels – use your judgement on such matters and compare prices and course content.

The ‘Attunement’ process underpins each of the levels. Indeed, it’s the Reiki Attunement that makes Reiki unique to other forms of healing touch and energy work. Think of receiving Attunements like receiving the keys that open portals in the Universe.

The Attunement ceremony is called Reiju (Ray-joo) in Japanese and is performed by your Reiki Master. This ceremony opens and expands the main energy channels in your body, allowing universal energy, also known as Chi’, to flow freely.

As a result of this process, the Attunement will clear blockages within you. If you have not done a lot of self-work before, you may find this experience deeply emotional or intense as you experience a period of self-growth and possibly a spiritual awakening. Some people experience a healing crisis where they just feel extremely emotional for days. Go with it. This is good and shows Reiki energy at work as it moves blocks from your life.

So here’s what you can expect if you are called to study Reiki.

Reiki Level 1: First Degree

The First Degree is an initiation into Reiki and is open to all. The focus during this stage is to open the energy channels on a physical level, allowing you to connect to the universal life force energy.

In the First Degree, you will learn about the history of Reiki, the prescribed hand placements and you will also learn how to give yourself Reiki as well as give to others in the group.

Your Reiki Master may encourage you to focus on giving Reiki on yourself each and every day – my own Reiki Master stipulated 21 days. This allows you to work through your own challenges and blocks as I mentioned previously. Every night in bed I would begin but I’d always fall asleep, so I’d have to start again the following day.

The Reiki Level 1 Attunement was initially given in four separate Attunements. There are some Reiki Masters who still teach using this method. However, many Reiki Masters provide the Level 1 Attunement in one single Attunement.

Many experience physical symptoms of energy in their palms after the first Attunement — including tingling, coolness or heat. Others may feel nothing at all and that’s perfectly fine too. It doesn’t mean it ‘hasn’t worked’.

Reiki Level 2: Second Degree

The Second Degree is often defined by a focus on practising Reiki on others, as well as an expanded opening of the energy channels. Additionally, students receive the “Reiki symbols” and Level 2 Attunement.

The Reiki symbols allow the practitioner to connect more deeply with the universal energy, as well as draw on the qualities that the symbols represent. This includes the ability to provide distance/absent Reiki or to send healing energy to individuals wherever they may be.

This symbol also may be used to clear energy blockages across time, as well as physical locations. Due to the intensity of the Attunement process, some Reiki Masters recommend that at least 21 days to a full three months pass (as mine did) between receiving the Level 1 and Level 2 Attunements.

During the Second Degree Attunement, you must memorise the symbols and learn how to draw them. You will learn how to invoke the energies and will also learn about Distance Healing.

Reiki Level 3: Third Degree & Reiki Master

When I was Attuned to Reiki, the Third Degree was simply known as the Reiki Master Degree (or teacher’s level). However, some teachers separate the Third Degree from Reiki Master, in order to emphasise the difference between receiving the Master attunement, from being trained in Attuning new students or practitioners.

The Reiki Master Level is traditionally considered the teacher’s level —a practitioner who has received the energy and knowledge to attune new Reiki practitioners. Many receive the Master attunement, along with the corresponding symbol, yet don’t feel ready to Attune others — hence the distinction between Third Degree and Reiki Master (and hence why I think a Practitioner should wait until they feel called).

Becoming a Reiki Master represents a deep commitment to the Reiki practice. Before Reiki became so well-known practitioners only progressed to Master when they were called to do so. With this in mind, I am slightly sceptical of Reiki ‘Masters’ who have only been attuned to Reiki for a year or so and have already moved on to become a Master. I am old school/traditional when it comes to Reiki. It’s my contribution to keeping it a pure and sacred energy to be used only for the recipient’s highest good.

If you would like further information on how to become Attuned to Reiki feel free to give me a ring or send me an email.

Namaste x